2017 STEM Award Recipients

In 2017, we recognized programs at 3 different award levels:  

  • The STEM Innovation Award:  5 awards given, 1 in each category
  • Special Recognition:  4 awards given
  • Honorable Mention:  4 awards given

STEM Innovation Award

Recognized for Exemplary STEM innovation, fostering creativity and 21st Century learning opportunities. Comprehensive Application with evidence to support their STEM work in schools and the community. 

Primary STEM Innovation Award: 
Kids Afield
Martin B. Anderson School #1

Elementary STEM Innovation Award: 
4th Grade Innovators
John Kennedy Intermediate (Batavia CSD)

Secondary STEM Innovation Award: 
STEM Course
Lyons High School 

Family and Community STEM Innovation Award (School Based): 
Family Science and Engineering Nights
Nathaniel Rochester Community School (RCSD)

Family and Community STEM Innovation Award (Community Based): 
STEAM Lab Makerspace
Phelps Library

Special Recognition 

The applicants recognized provided a comprehensive application that represented a deliberate focus on STEM education. Their commitment and passion for STEM education was apparent. 

  • Boys and Girls Club STEM Program: Boys and Girls Club of Rochester; Caroline Miller
  • Hands on STEM: Warsaw Elementary School; Morgan Beikirch
  • Metal Trades Precision Machining: Genesee Valley Educational Partnership; Tim Gleba
  • PHS Team STEAM: Penfield High School; Nicole Whitehead

Honorable Mention

The applicants recognized provided evidence of aligned curriculum and standards to STEM learning. Each showed that there is a focus on course work to promote STEM learning

  • High School Technology Program: Caledonia-Mumford High School; Jim Wolbert
  • IB MYP: Palmyra-Macedon Middle School; Amy Monachino
  • PLTW Biomedical Sciences: Ruben A. Cirillo High School (Gananda CSD); Matt Mahoney
  • STEM Integration: Sodus CSD; James Pier